Research division of the DEA started at Wariyapolawatta, in Matale district with the commencement of the department in 1972. Today it has been developed into a strong research wing with six commodity/ discipline based Research stations, Economics Research Division and the Plant Protection unit. The division is occupied with thirty Research Officers, nineteen Research and Development Assistants, fourteen Research Assistants and other support staff and laborers.

Commodity and discipline based research is carried out at the Main Research Station, Matale and six sub stations namely Cinnamon Research station at Pallolpitiya in Matara district, Intercropping and Betel Research Station at Narammala in Kurunagala district, Tissue culture and Plant Propagation Centre at Walpita in Gampaha district, Kundasale, Nillambe and Mid Country Research Station in Kandy district.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 10 July 2018 10:24